- 1774. The "Quebec Act" passed. This Act gave the French Canadians the free exercise of the Roman Catholic religion, the enjoyment of their civil rights, and the protection of their own civil laws and customs. It annexed large territories to the Province of Quebec, provided for the appointment by the Crown of a Legislative Council, and for the administration of the criminal law as in use in England.
- 1775. Outbreak of the American Revolution, and invasion of Canada by the Americans; every place of importance rapidly fell into their hands, with the exception of Quebec, in an attack upon which Gen. Montgomery was defeated and killed on 31st December.
- 1776. Reinforcements arrived from England, and the Americans were fually driven out of Canada.
- 1783. September 3 Signing of the Treaty of Paris, and definition of the boundary line between Canada and the United States, viz., the Great Lakes, the St. Lawrence, the 45th parallel of north latitude, the bigblands dividing the waters falling into the Atlantic from those emptying themselves into the St. Lawrence and the St. Croix River.
- 1784. Population of Canada, 113,012. (United Empire Loyalists in Upper Canada not included).
 - British population of Nova Scotia, 32,000 (about 11,000 Acadians not included).
 - Separation from Nova Scotia, and erection into a new province of New Branswick, population, 11,457.
 - About this time began the migration into Canada and Nova Scotia of the United Empire Loyalists, as they were called, that is, of those settlers in the American States who had remained faithful to the British cause. This migration lasted for several years, and though it is not possible to arrive at any exact figures, it is probable that the number altogether was not less than 40,000. The Loyalists were well treated by the British Government, and large grants of lands were made to them in various parts of the country. The banks of the St. Lawrence and shores of Lake Ontario in particular, were settled by about 10,000, on lands al otted to them by the Government.
- 1785. Re-introduction of the right of habeas corpus.
- 1791. Division of the Province of Quebec into two Provinces, viz., Upper and Lower Canada. Each Province to have a Lieutenant Governor, and a Legislature composed of a House of Assembly and a Legislative Council. The members of the Council were to be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor for life, those of the Assembly to be elected by the people for four years.

Population of the two Provinces, 161,311.

- 1792. September 17. First meeting of the Parliament of Upper Canada at Newark (Niagara) under Lieut. Governor Simcoe. The House of Assembly consisted of sixteen members.
 - December 17. Opening of the Legislature of Lower Canada, at Quebec, by Gen. Clarke. The House of Assembly consisted of fifty members.